

Board of Directors Meeting Minutes

Questions or comments? Please contact Ashley Wilson, Clerk of the Board, at 961-8476.

MEETING DATE: Thursday, May 23, 2024

MEMBERS PRESENT

Anthony Akers, Cheri Warburton, Richard Chidester, Jason Buckland, Sally McCarthy, Sara Bohn, Bobby Davis, Jerry Boothe, Linda Millsaps, Kelly Edmonson

MEMBERS ABSENT

Emily Hite, Susan Richardson and Judy Diggs (absent with notice)

AGENDA ACTION ITEMS

April 25, 2024, Meeting Minutes

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by the Board Chair, Anthony Akers at 3:45 pm. Mr. Akers welcomed attendees and the roll call was read by Ashley Wilson, Clerk of the Board.

MINUTES**

Sara Bohn made a motion to approve the April Meeting Minutes, which was seconded by Bobby Davis. (*Unanimously approved, Jason Buckland abstained*)

PROGRAM REPORTS**

<u>Financial and Administrative Support Services</u>: Rebecca Leeper, Accountant, presented the April Financial statement. With no issues reported, Cheri Warburton made a motion to accept the April Financial Statement which was seconded by Jerry Boothe. (*Unanimously approved*).

<u>Human Resources:</u> Chris Taylor, Senior Director, provided an update on the recent staff appreciation event. Mr. Taylor continued with reporting on a successful open enrollment and thanked the HR team for ensuring the success. Mr. Taylor finished his report with an update on the agency's internal training committee, upcoming VRS changes and the implementation of an all-staff bonus.

Sara Bohn moved to approve the proposed policy changes, which was seconded by Jerry Boothe. (Unanimously approved)

<u>Community Support Services:</u> Shelly Farmer, Senior Director, discussed the recent increased funding for the Permanent Supportive Housing regional program.

Regional Mobile Crisis: Karen Adams, Senior Director, provided an update on the national 988 line as well as the current process with finalizing MOUs with private providers for regional mobile crisis.

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE REPORT: Anthony Akers, Board Chair, presented the proposed slate of officers for Fiscal Year 2025. Cheri Warburton has been nominated to serve as the next Board chair and Kelly Edmonson has been nominated to serve as Vice Chair. Floor nominations will be open at the June meeting and Board Members will vote to approve the appointment of new officers.

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT: Shelly Farmer, Senior Director, began the Executive Director's report, but thanking the work session provider, Rebecca Leeper, who presented the proposed FY25 Budget. The



Board of Directors Meeting Minutes

agency has worked diligently to balance the budget as well as include set priorities targeted to increase staff compensation. Ms. Farmer continued her report with an update on the NRVCS Rides Program.

Ms. Farmer provided an update from the Department of Behavioral Health who continues to focus on workforce issues, as evidenced by the new funding we received to support Reach and Mobile Crisis retention and recruitment.

Ms. Farmer finished her report with an update on the regional OAA funding and plans to host focus groups in each jurisdiction that we serve, to discuss peer services and the possible development of another peer center, in conjunction with the OAA funding and NRV Ecosystem

Closed Session:

- Cheri Warburton made the following motion: "I hereby move that the New River Valley
 Community Services Board convene in a closed meeting pursuant to Virginia Code 2.2-3711 A(4),
 for the protection of the privacy of individuals in personal matters not related to public
 business." Kelly Edmonson provided a second. Roll was called and unanimously approved.
- Cheri Warburton made the following motion: "I move to reconvene the New River Valley Community Services Board into public session" Jerry Boothe provided a second. Roll Call was read and unanimously approved.
- Kelly Edmonson made the motion that each member certify that to the best of their knowledge only matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements were heard, discussed, or considered, which was seconded by Bobby Davis. The roll call was read by the Clerk of the Board and all members present did so certify.
- Jerry Boothe moved to approve the Executive Director's FY 24 Evaluation and the proposed compensation package, which was seconded by Sara Bohn. (Unanimously approved)

<u>ADJOURNMENT:</u> There being no further business, Anthony Akers requested a motion to adjourn the meeting, at 5 pm. Sara Bohn made a motion to adjourn which was seconded by Kelly Edmonson. (*Unanimously approved*)

MINUTES APPROVED ON: <u>June 25, 2024</u>, <u>Ashley Wilson</u>
Ashley Wilson, Clerk of the Board

Board Member	Representing	Term Ends
Sara Bohn	Montgomery County	6/30/2024 (1 st Term)
Anthony Akers	Pulaski County	6/30/2024 (3 rd Term)
Linda Millsaps	Floyd County	6/30/2026 (1 st Term)
Emily Hite	City of Radford	6/30/2026 (1 st Term)
Jason Buckland	Giles County	6/30/2026 (3 rd Term)
Sally McCarthy	Pulaski County	6/30/2026 (3 rd Term)
Bobby Davis	City of Radford	6/30/2024 (filling previous seat)
Susan Richardson	Montgomery County	6/30/2025 (3 nd Term)
Judy Diggs	Montgomery County	6/30/2025 (1 st Term)
Cheri Warburton	Pulaski County	6/30/2026 (1 st Term)
Jerry Boothe	Floyd County	6/30/2024 (1 st Term)
Kelly Edmonson	Montgomery County	6/30/2026 (1 st Term)
Richard Chidester	Giles County	6/30/2026 (1 st Term)